WTF News

Flying monk Li Wei defies gravity to take his art to new heights

Here’s something you don’t see every day – a Buddhist monk who appeared to be levitating effortlessly above a fountain was spotted hovering at La Villette in Paris, over the Fontaine of Lyons.

Although, on closer inspection, it’s possible to see how he does it, Chinese illusionist Li Wei uses his performance art and photography skills to create unusual snaps.
These stunning photos were taken this week in the French capital, showing Li being dangled from a crane at dizzying heights while dressed as a monk.
In other snaps he appears to be in just his underwear.

‘The first reaction is astonishment. Some people think they are full of a sense of humour. They are curious about how I did this,’ revealed Li.
‘Sometimes I am in real danger – I have to hang myself high with steel wires and people do get a little worried for me – but I am fine.’

He has been snapped all over the world in gravity-defying situations and his work often sells for over £4,000.
The 37-year-old says there is a deeper meaning to his artwork than just the initial shock factor.
‘My work and artistic experience are characterised by a unique specificity and particularity,’ said the Beijing-born stuntman.

 

My artistic language is universal and deals with themes about contemporary politics and society using symbols understood by everyone in every part of the world.
‘I am fascinated by the unstable and dangerous sides of art and I hope my works reflect these aspects.’
Li also admitted he is often in real danger, given the hazardous nature of his work.
He has previously been snapped falling from skyscrapers, flying through the sky and jumping out of windows.
Source : Metro

Leave a Reply

