Interviews / Music

Listen To This Week’s Featured ‘New and Next’ Artist, “Blo Smallz

All good music resembles something. Good music stirs by its mysterious resemblance to the objects and feelings which motivated it.

But when you get music and words together, that can be a very powerful thing.I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.

I would love to introduce to you this week’s new and next artist, he goes by the name “Blo Smallz” who I’ve been secretly admiring.

He recently brought out a mixtape entitled ” N A P O L E O N  ” and I had the opportunity to take a look into his life to discover the man behind the music.

Take a read below to see what he reveals and check out his video at the end and let us know what you think.

1.Give the readers a quick idea of who you are and what you do? 
 My name is Blo Smallz and I am a Barbadian born independent hip hop artist.
 2. When and why did you start rapping? 
I’ve been writing music since I was 11 but I started rapping when I was like 16-17 just putting videos on my Facebook profile. At age 18 is when I started recording music in a home studio. Since then I’ve been making my way up the scale.
3.Which genre did you start with?
LOL well I guess what you could call what I did back in high school is “fling.” Similar to Azman’s style. Most of the stuff was just funny rhymes about my schoolmates though, none of them were ever recorded.
4.What’s your motto or the advice you live by?
Memories Fade. History is forever documented. Write your name on History’s page.
5. Tell us something that was really successful or a high point in your career
Back in 2010 I released my first ever mixtape called “The College Boy Mixtape” myself and my manager at the time, Andre Craig planned a mixtape launch in Bump N Wine and it was a really overwhelming feeling. Knowing everyone was there mainly to see you!! Plus it was my first ever project I put out and the amount of time, money and stress I put in to it being a teenager, I was glad to see it blossom. Looking back at it now though, I’ve come a long way and I’ve definitely gotten better rapping. I wouldn’t advise anyone to listen to that tape!
6.Does your family encourage you and who else in your family sings?

No one else in my family sings, I started rapping because my older brother was an Eminem fanatic and he use to write music too, so I kinda followed in his footsteps but I went a bit further in actually recording my music and putting it out. His raps never left the page. I don’t let my family hear much of my music, cause hip-hop isn’t there genre but they know I rap and I ‘d guess naturally they would wanna see me do well. My real supporting family is Slyfox Movement though!

7.Which famous musicians do you admire? Why?

Tupac Shakur, Nas, Bob & Damian Marley because they all have messages in their music and they all inspired me as a kid. They’re the reason my raps are more conscious rather than flashy. They made me feel comfortable writing and rapping about my actual life and not some fairytale or the life we may wish to have.

8.What kind of music do you listen to today?

I listen to everything from Adele to Mavado. Alot of old stuff though from 2000 back to the 80’s, I have my favorites in every genre. I don’t listen to death metal though, that’s a bit too wild!

9.What embarrassing songs might I find on your Ipod/MP3 player?

The entire soundtrack from the comedy movie “Get Him To The Greek” and a song called “Scotty Doesn’t Know” from the comedy movie “Eurotrip”

10.Where would you most like to perform?

Probably a cliche answer, but I’d have to say a sold out Madison Square Garden

11.Describe your vision for your music.
I just try to make music based on every emotion I feel. So that when people hear it they can relate. I always try to inspire our generation too because alot of the music today can be misleading and while music doesn’t make you do stuff, it can be very influential.
12.If you could dabble in another genre of music, what would it be?

Reggae, similar to Damian Marley

 
13.What inspired your first song
 I can’t remember the very first song I wrote but the first song I ever recorded in the studio was a song called “Dream.” It was a cover on B.o.B’s Nothing On You instrumental. I was rapping about where I saw myself in the future. I was inspired by the people who were telling me I had a spark of brilliance in me back when I was putting the freestyle videos on my Facebook profile.
14.What can we expect from you in the upcoming year?
 I’m soon releasing a mini-tape called “246AM” and I’m soon beginning work on my debut single produced by Unorthodoc. and a mixtape mainly for my female fanbase. After that I’ll get back to some hardcore conscious raps for the hardcore fans.
15.Where can we view some of your work?
16.Any advice for aspiring artist?
They’re thousands of aspiring artist out there, some better than others. So never feel comfortable at where you’re at. Work Hard then Work Harder. Being an artist is more than glitz and glamour like the stuff we see on tv, you gotta work to get to that point. So if you really want to do it prepare yourself for hatred and negativity never take it personal, never mix friends with business and cherish the love and positiveness when it comes! Never forget your people and never forget where you came from cause that determines where you’re going.
Give a shout out…
S/O to my entire team! Slyfox Movement, Tyler & Kolly especially. Everyone that’s been supporting me non-stop and pushing me to the next level, I appreciate it. Thanks to Righteous Revolution, BND, Pon Di Scene TV, Dynamic Soundz, Slash Soundz & #3EF4G

A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others.

One thought on “Listen To This Week’s Featured ‘New and Next’ Artist, “Blo Smallz

Leave a Reply

