Interviews / Music

Listen To This Week’s Featured ‘ New and Next Artist, Jayexxx

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music and one good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.

Music speaks what cannot be expressed, soothes the mind and gives it rest, heals the heart and makes it whole, flows from heaven to the soul.

I had the opportunity to take a few notes from this new artist on the scene, who goes by the name Jayexxx(pronounced as Jake’s) .The lyrics in his music shows  that what he writes is straight off the bat in real time from his heart .Which is something that  people love hear coming straight from the  artist who is responding to the moment for them. Whether this be love, political issues or current beef happening in the game.

What I’ve recognized ,is that artist – (musicians, painters, writers, poets) ;always seem to have had the most accurate perception of what is really going on around them, not the official version or the popular perception of contemporary life.

It really warms my heart when I see young people doing something they love and succeeding , as one of my mentors once said “The generation of the “Let’s Go, Let’s Go” will conquer everything under the stars”.

Like family, we are tied to each other. This is what all good artists understand and Jayexxx’s array of songs which can be found on his Facebook Fan PageSoundcloud / Hot New Hip Hop demonstrates that he wants to be the loud voice for so many quiet hearts.

Take a read below to see what he reveals throughout the interview….

1 .Give the readers a quick idea of who you are and what you do?

My name is Jared Cox and 18 years ago I was born to the parents of Anthony and Mervina Cox in the town of Manhasset.
I am of Bajan decent and rep it with pride.
Music is my hustle being that i’m a rapper/lyricist. I go by the name of Jayexxx (pronounced as Jake’s) hailing out of Hempstead, Long Island. I am also the founder of Double Deck Bucks Productions which includes other artists : Toddie Warbucks, Spotlight, and Eddie Piff, with close associates such as Penny Shaw, Mars, and B.Gizzle. D.D.B IS THE MOVEMENT!

2.When did you first start singing and what is the first song you ever sung?

HA! The first rap I ever wrote was when I was in 3rd grade. Would I ever record it and put it out? Eh probably not, but that’s because I feel that it’s something only for me to cherish. I started taking this gift of mine seriously and recording about 3 years ago on Feb 11th. The first song I ever recorded was a freestyle to The Diplomat’s “Dipset Anthem” on my iPhone! Yup, my iPhone and I used to be tight when it came to the recordings, but still don’t be surprised if you ever catch me in my car bustin’ out a few freestyles on it!

3. So, what are your thoughts on the current state of the game?

Ahhh man, the game is in need of help! There is too much of the “same thing” now- a-days. Originality has gone out the window. I think it’s time for a change, but don’t get me wrong, there are many rappers in the game now who are pulling the weight. It sounds like everybody is trying to be somebody else and there are only two possible outcomes from that; redundancy and deterioration. It’s one thing to be influenced by someone, but it’s another thing to mimic….

4 .What’s the motto you live by and name one thing people don’t know about you

The motto I live by is, “You get it how you live it” The definition is in the phrase…   Hmmm, something people don’t know about me is that I collect Dollar Coins. I have been doing this for about 8 years and I have close to 50 coins with dates ranging from 1796 to 2011.

5.Tell us something that was really successful or a high point in your career

A high point in my career would definitely have to be the little situation I had going on with this Independent label called Vibes Records. It was so to say a turning point for me as they focused on developing my talent and helping me hone my craft.

6. How do you separate yourself from other artists?

The answer to that question is still in the works. I try daily to separate myself of other artist, but I think the thing about me is I like to bring my personality into every verse that I make, ya know? I am and always been that uplifting jokester, so why not let ME pour MYSELF into MY rhymes. I have something formulating and what I mean by that is my sound. What I’m trying to do is slowly grow and evolve into that missing lane that hip-hop is missing, but I guess you guys would just have to wait and see what I’m talking about.

7.Have you always enjoyed the art of music?

Oh yes! I’ve always loved music as a whole, everything about it, every nook and cranny. From any little concept, to any finished project. There are so many different components to music as a whole ya know? So many different emotions are evoked that I don’t know how anyone could ever say “I HATE MUSIC AS A WHOLE, I CAN LIVE WITHOUT IT”. That just wouldn’t make sense.

8.Does your family encourage you and who else in your family sings?

Of course, my family is very supportive in anything that I do. That’s the way it should be. That’s where that first drop of your fuel formulates. To keep it real, music and my family go hand to hand. Almost everyone in my family has had some type of musical experience, whether it be playing instruments, Dj’ing , or singing. I have cousins who have beautiful voices, absolutely beautiful! I have tracks that I’ve done with one of my cousins, Damali, called “M.O.T.U” off of my DEAMM Mixtape. Her voice is truly angelic, but I guess that’s what you expect from a girl who grew up in the church, a West Indian church at that.

9.Who are your musical inspirations?

Man, my musical inspirations. There is so many ways to look at that question. When all is said and done, my biggest inspiration would have to be Rick Ross, but it’s more than just the music in the ways that he has inspired me. Kanye has definitely taught me to think outside the box and let my mind free. I can’t forget about Jay, that’s the classic ‘Rags to Ritches’ story right there in the flesh. Every time I listen to Jay-Z spit, it just pushes me to go harder and to put in that extra work, that extra hour, that extra minute, that extra second. I can’t tell you how many 24 hr studio sessions I have grinded through. I can’t stop, I’m already too far in, too much time has already been invested into the 3 years of this journey.

10 .What embarrassing songs might I find on your Ipod/MP3 player?

Oh boy! I got a handful of songs in my iPod that would “embarrass” me. I don’t really get embarrassed because they are jammies. Let me see, I got Fireworks by Katy Perry on there, believe it or not, I got some Bieber on there man. HA! During the Christmas Holidays I was bumpin’ mistletoe heavy, but don’t tell anybody that one, HA!

11.Where would you most like to perform?

To be honest, I would love to perform at a sold out event in Barbados. To be able to perform not only in a beautiful place, but in the place where my family originated from? I don’t know, I just see something really special in that. I’ve had dreams about it.

12.If you weren’t rapping, what would you be doing?
I’m pretty sure I would be doing something else for me that’s productive. That could be anything really. Sometimes I see myself getting into other aspects of arts such as photography, or video producing, but I think it would definitely still be music related.

13. Do you play any instruments?

Yea I play an instrument, well I used to. I played the Tenor Sax for a year, but then I moved on to the Trombone. I wasn’t the best, but I learned a lot about music as a whole as I played it heavy for 8 years. I really want to learn how to play the Guitar. I think that instrument is incredible and can be used in so many ways.

14. Do you enjoy writing lyrics?

Writing is something that I hold close to me. There is nothing else in this world that can take away stress faster than writing some lyrics. It’s a form of ventilation and it’s amazing to see how your writing transforms throughout time. Speaking truthfully, there was never a time that I said, “forget this” or “I don’t have time for this”, this is my passion! My thought process has changed tremendously since I started writing. I’m more aware of myself and by that I mean I’m aware of what I’m capable of doing and handling.

15.If you could dabble in another genre of music, what would it be?

I dabble a little bit into everything, I have no standards. Obviously mostly Hip-Hop, but I’m also a big fan of reggae, Dancehall, Soca & Calypso. There are a few rock songs I rock out to. I like some stuff from System of the Down. Maroon 5 has always caught my attention too, so I’m really open minded when it comes to music. Oh and Bob Sinclair, I can’t forget him. He has brought some real nice chunes to my ears.

16.What one genre of music you can & can’t stand to listen to?

Oy, I hate to air it out, but that Heavy Rock Metal it gets to me. It gives me headaches man, I’m sure it’s great, but all that noise can’t be tolerated in my head. Screamo doesn’t sit well with me either.

17.What would you advise to any upcoming artist who are looking to get into the music scene?

It’s something that takes a lot of commitment. If you’re going to do this, then you gotta put your all into it. Everyday is practice and everyday you get better. Go and get it



Give a shout out & It was nice chatting with you  Jayexx…

I would like to shout out my family, without them I wouldn’t be me and that’s the truth. Double Deck Bucks, you already know what it is. All of Long Island, Barbados, and I gotta shout out Toddie Warbucks! Without Warbucks, there would be no Jayexxx. To all of my listeners, I THANK YOU TENFOLD! Keep giving me your ears in exchange for my heart and I won’t let you guys down.

It was definitely a pleasure, thanks for this. Big up The Ultimate Life Style Blog, it’s all love! -Jayexxx

“Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world.”~ Joel Barker

Leave a Reply

